Learning To Read

I was never a kid that liked to read. Sure I would sit and listen as my mom read “Mr. Poppers Penguins” or “Goodnight Moon”, but you would never catch me actually reading a book. This rebellion of some sort was difficult to keep up as I went through middle school and most of high school. (I’m still a senior in high school so my time isn’t over yet) I would be assigned books to read for a class, if your one of my previous english teachers just look away, and I would always have a tab up on my computer for Spark notes. You would’ve thought that my eyes would’ve melted if I stared at an open book…that’s how against reading I was. Don’t get me wrong, I wished that I could read…I really did! I would watch my brother sit down with a book and be done reading it that same night, while I would still be staring at it out of the corner of my eye. The good news though is that I found a passion…not for reading but for cooking! So naturally I started to discover cookbooks, and then culinary text books, and then food stories from all kinds of authors. It was great! I started becoming interested in reading. I wasn’t finding these books to actually read a book though, I was searching for more and more information. So if you aren’t a reader…I challenge you to find a hobby, or a topic, or a passion deep inside of you and then  search for a book on that subject. You won’t even know that your reading a book, your mind will trick you into making you believe you love it.

So here are some of my must have books that you can go get yourself! I’m guessing you have an interest in cooking if your checking out my website. :)

#1- Any book by Alton Brown

I learned so much from reading Alton Brown’s books! They explain cooking in such an easy, but yet scientific way. I owe most of my knowledge to Good Eats and this mans amazing books. Bravo to you if you have his stuff already…if not, go get it all!

#2- Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

I got the chance to listen to Anthony Bourdain speak and then meet him afterwards and he is just a cool guy. This book is crazy entertaining and I know you’ll enjoy it.

#3- Food Matters by Mark Bittman

Mark Bittman was never formally trained as a chef and writes for the New York Times. Check out this book because it’s just all around awesome.

#4- The Professional Chef from the Culinary Institute of America

I learned a lot of actual cooking techniques from reading this book cover to cover. High light and bookmark as you go…It’s a heavy book but you’ll love it if you want to learn more about cooking. 

#5- What Einstein Told His Cook by Robert Wolke

I’m a fan of the science behind cooking, and if you are too…this is the book for you! 

#6- Wheat Belly by William Davis, MD

Learn why everyone should be gluten-free! This is a must read! 

Let me know what you think of these books by commenting on this post or tweeting me!

My challenge for you is to find something you love and read about it. Your passion may not be cooking…just remember that whatever you want to do, there’s a book for that. If there’s not a book for it…why don’t you write it?

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

