Paula and the Diabetes Factory

I have loved this woman ever since i met her….through my TV. When I first started watching the food network I was literally glued to the screen when Paula’s show came on. Casseroles made with everything under the sun, decadent desserts, and the constant view of fried food made me feel like I was in her kitchen! Sometimes I could even swear that I smelled her chicken fried steak cooking. She has been the closest to creating smellovision I believe.

Recently though there has been some NOT SO SHOCKING news about this wonderful woman that has been confirmed. This morning (January 17th) Paula announced on the “Today” show that she has had Type 2 Diabetes since 2008.

“You can have diabetes and have a piece of cake. You cannot have diabetes and eat a whole cake.”  -Paula Deen

My first question Did she really use to eat a whole cake at a time?

My second question Why did she wait until now to tell us all about this?

The answer to my first question is an obvious yes but the answer to my second question has people in an uproar! Paula claims that she never came clean about having diabetes because she knew very little about the disease and wanted to make sure she was sharing the correct facts with people. Okayyyyy……so here’s my third question Why did it take you 3 years to learn about diabetes?

You want to know the answer to my third question? Just read this paragraph from The Associated Press:

“Deen is the pitch person for Novo Nordisk’s new online program, Diabetes in a New Light, which offers tips on food preparation, stress management and working with doctors on treatment. She has contributed diabetes-friendly recipes to the website and takes the company’s drug Victoza, a once-daily noninsulin injection that had global sales of $734 million in the first nine months of 2011.”

It takes a long time to put a deal together like this! Sure she had to learn about the disease, change her diet, change her recipes, and get her family on board. (one of her sons is now hosting “not my mommas meals” on the cooking channel) But the thing that I’m sure took the longest was finding out a way to make money off of her diabetes. Thank you Novo Nordisk.

Now I’m not bashing her…even though it might sound like I am. Everyone is in business to make money…and if you were in Paula’s place I guarantee you’d be making millions off of this too. I don’t judge, I think it’s great that she has come clean about this…I even think it’s great that she made a deal with the drug company! I respect her as a business woman and a culinary Icon. Before you go against this southern butter bell, think about what you would do as a cooking celebrity with diabetes. You’d start a whole new line of recipes right? You’d try to partner with a drug company right? …That’s what I thought.

The one thing I hope she does is change her diet for the better. Pills aren’t the way to go…you can truly cure diabetes with the right kind of diet. And remember Paula! A diet isn’t something that you go on to lose a couple pounds…It’s a way of life! So drop the pills, drop the gluten, and eat your vegetables.

No matter what, I still love you!

Tweet me! :) 

One thought on “Paula and the Diabetes Factory

  1. I admire Paula for her journey. She is a remarkable business woman and entrepreneur, but I believe the biggest credit to her name is that she started from nothing. In her memoir she reveals that she has came from living in a cock roach ridden house, making her children sell sandwiches to local businesses, working long hours in her restaurant, and overcoming agoraphobia. Unless she has just become obsessed with making money and the fame has went to her head, she will overcome diabetes with the same persistency and resilience as she has before.

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

