Almond Butter Cups

Let me start by telling you about my almond butter obsession. I guess you could say I put it on about everything…So naturally I would want it with chocolate! It’s great in parfaits, smoothies, chicken salad, even salad dressings. Yummy? Yes…yes it is.

Reese’s are one of my favorite candies. I remember always buying them when I went to my grandma’s house. We would stash them in the freezer for a cool and chocolaty sack after coming home from the swimming pool! Enjoy this healthier version of a reese’s and let me know what you think. :)

This recipe makes 7 almond butter cups so you can have one everyday of the week!

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup chocolate powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup Agave Nectar or Honey
  • 7 tsp. almond butter

How To

  1. Melt the coconut oil in the microwave (takes about 30 seconds) and add it to a  2 cup liquid measuring cup with a spout. (The spouted measuring cup makes the mixture easier to pour)
  2. Add the agave and chocolate powder to the melted coconut oil and mix well.
  3. Use a mini cupcake pan to make the Reese’s. Pour about a tsp. of chocolate into the bottom of 7 spots in the pan. You’ll have about half of the chocolate mixture left after doing this. There’s no need to grease the pan.
  4. Put the pan into the freezer for 10 minutes.
  5. Once nicely chilled, you can put 1 tsp. of almond butter onto the top of each future reese’s. spread it, using a spoon, to cover the top of the chocolate.
  6. using the remaining chocolate, coconut oil, and agave mixture, cover the almond butter so it’s no longer visible.
  7. Chill for 20 minutes in the freezer.
  8. To flip these out of the cupcake pan, run a dish cloth under really hot water and then ring out the excess H20. Flip the pan over onto a sheet tray and cup the bottom of each cupcake spot to just warm the edges of your reese’s. Then give the bottom a good tap and the cups should just fall right out!

Let me know if you have any questions by Tweeting Me! 

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Almond Butter Cups

  1. Tanner, I enjoyed your presentation at the LWCC meeting Saturday. I am going to try your almond butter cups. They sound delicious. You spoke about eating healthy so I have a thought for you. Microwaving is fast and convenient, but it also rearranges the molecular structures of food and diminishes the nutritional value. If you are looking for more healthy ways to eat, you might consider just using the stove top. I have come to that and it really doesn’t take that much more time.

    The website I’m leaving is about food and malnourished kids. You might be interested in taking a look. I found this initiative after my first trip to Africa. I knew I needed to find a way to help kids have a nutritious, lifesaving meal after seeing so many with no food, no parents, just struggling to survive day to day. I’d be glad to share more with you if you have an interest in knowing how we can save the lives of children here and around the world. It’s all about food and getting it where it needs to be.

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

