Snow Day…and Gluten Free Sponge Cake

     This snow day was highly anticipated, extremely needed, and sent everyone to the grocery store at the exact same time. You would’ve thought that none of us had ever seen snow before…probably because it was just 70 degrees outside like 4 days before it happened. I went from having a severe case of spring fever to singing christmas songs! (Not even kidding…ask my mom and my girlfriend, they had to listen) But the most appealing thing to me about this snow storm was the fact that I didn’t have to leave my house…for 1 whole day. I was SO pumped that all I had to do was sit around in my pajamas, stay warm, and make some food. We all know that I like food…so welcome to my heaven.

Let’s talk about snow day food here for a second though before I share my recipe with you. Normally I eat, cook and spread healthy food because that’s what I believe in doing…but not on a snow day. I rarely ever have a day where I get to sit at home and do nothing, so I decided to add “eat anything I want” to my list of things to do for the day. This was the FIRST and possibly the ONLY snow day of the season so I had to jump on this unhealthy opportunity! No, I don’t take “eat anything I want” days all the time obviously…but let me just say this: I really hope there’s another snow day soon.

The one thing that is slightly lame is the fact that this amazing snow day happened on a Saturday. I definitely can’t complain since I have the best senior year schedule ever…but I can’t help but feel like this day would’ve been so much better during the school week.

But anyway…below is a literally amazing cake recipe that you NEED to make the next time you have a snow day. For those of you in snowless places, just take a day to lock yourself in the house in your pajamas and eat this whole cake. Wait…just have a piece or two, the whole cake is probably a little over board.

My kitchen was the hub of all the snow day activity, and I might of gotten just slightly crazy during this cake making process…so enjoy!

Mocha Sponge Cake

For the cake

  • 8 eggs, room temp and separated
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup Tapioca Flour
  • 1 tbsp. Espresso Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tbsp. Bailey’s. (My mom official snow day drink was Baileys and coffee…so I worked it into the recipe. Feel free to leave it out if you’d like)

For the chocolate filling

  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup whole milk, or cream (room temp)
  • 1 tbsp. bailey’s

How to

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Make sure all the eggs are at room temp and then separate the whites from the yolks. Put the whites into the bowl of your kitchen aid mixer, or just a big bowl with an electric mixer close by. (You can always go old school with a whisk)
  3. Using the whisk attachment for your stand mixer, or the standard attachments for your electric mixer to whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. Once they are finished just set them aside and deal with the yolks.
  4. Whip the yolks in a large bowl for about 2-3 minutes or until they are a lighter yellow color. Then add the vanilla extract and start combining your dry ingredients.
  5. Combine the powdered sugar, tapioca flour, and salt in a small bowl. Make sure to sift the powdered sugar and tapioca flour if any lumps are present.
  6. add the dry ingredients into the egg yolks in 3 installments. (1/2 cup at a time) and mix until well combined. Add the espresso powder and the bailey’s to the party and then give the mix a final stir.
  7. Now it’s time for the egg whites! Gently fold the egg whites into the egg yolk mixture with a silicone spatula. Be extremely gentle and slow. You can do this in about 5 installments. (about 1 cup at a time.)
  8. Baking time! Line a jellyroll pan or sheet cake pan with parchment paper. (You can use butter, coconut oil, shortening, or a non-stick spray instead of parchment.) Add the sponge cake batter to the pan and evenly spread it out. It will look like there isn’t enough batter, but trust me there will be!
  9. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Once that time is up, just open the oven door a couple of inches and leave the cake inside, with the door open, for another 5 minutes.
  10. Take the cake out once the time is up and let it cool for 20 minutes.
  11. Now you can flip the cake out of the pan and start the decorating process!
There are many ways you can serve this sponge cake. It’s delicious by itself…but of course chocolate makes it even better! So to make the chocolate sauce:
  1. Melt the chocolate chips over a double boiler. (Use a glass bowl and a small pot with about 1 inch of water in it. Bring the water to a simmer and then add the chocolate to the bowl. Stir until the chocolate melts.) 
  2. Once the chocolate is melted, pour in the milk/cream and the bailey’s. Then your chocolate sauce is finished!

Once you have your chocolate sauce ready to go, it’s time to plate up some cake! to make the cake as you see it above, you just cut 3 squares out of the sponge cake and add a layer of chocolate in between them as you stack on the plate. It’s very simple, yet elegant. (and very tasty of course!) Then dust it generously with powdered sugar and serve!

But here’s where I start to get a little bit out of hand. Since it was a snow day I had to make breakfast when I woke up. Bacon was on the menu and I just happened to have some left over. So naturally…what do I do?Yes…I make a bacon, chocolate, and coffee sponge cake. (and those are bacon sprinkles on top) It was SO GOOD! The ultimate dessert, the ultimate breakfast, and the ultimate indulgence. Try it, I’m completely serious.

Or you can always roll up the sponge cake with the chocolate sauce inside. This was still amazing…even though some bacon would’ve been nice. :)

I had so much fun creating this recipe…that I almost forgot it was snowing outside. Until the powdered sugar came out to play.  Powdered sugar really is the best ingredient to use on snow days. Man I have such a hilarious story involving powdered sugar. It will have to wait for another blog though. ;)

Enjoy this recipe, enjoy the weather, and tweet me with questions. 

Have you read my Julia Child blog?

Bon  Appétit

 

 

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

