The best gluten free lemon bar recipe ever.

Happy day after Valentines Day!

Ever since i was little I’ve been consuming massive amounts of lemon bars. Okay, I’m exaggerating a little bit, but the point is that I love them and so does my whole family. I think it’s time for me to rise to the TOP of the lemon bar ranks, and this recipe will help me do just that.

How was my Valentines day you’re wondering? Is he just going to skip the whole subject? Well the truth is I’ve never been a huge V-day fan. We should share the love with everyone everyday of the year, right? I’m starting to like this cliché day more and more though, so maybe next year you’ll see a huge valentines day blog post with a big heart-shaped cake or something.

My Valentines day did end up being really great, and lemon bar filled of course. I started out by singing my uncle a great Heytell message. “I, I love you like a love song baby…I, I love you like a love song baby” (thank you Selena Gomez.) That’s what happens when you Heytell my mom, she just hands the phone to me and says “say something to your uncle.” I then proceeded to be accidentally late to school. (it wasn’t an accident…it was calculus) After that I worked worked worked…almost like it was a regular Tuesday, until it came time to hangout and go to dinner with my awesome girlfriend. We had very romantic mexican dive bar food. The best valentines dinner ever.

To be more festive I would’ve cut these lemon bars into heart shapes…but the sad thing is, they were gone before I really thought about doing that. These bars literally fly out of the pan magically into your mouth…again and again and again. (don’t tell anybody, but I ate one for breakfast, lunch and dinner.)

**disclaimer: I never said these were healthy. Please eat them sparingly if possible. I support eating healthy, but these lemon bars are an exception. (There are quite a few exceptions if you know me really well…you just have to make them very very rarely, that’s the key)

But anyway…Enjoy these! They are the BEST. :)

Ingredients

for the shortbread crust

16 oz. Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

8 oz. powdered sugar

2 sticks unsalted butter

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1 tbsp. lemon zest

for the lemon curd

2 cups fresh lemon juice (about 8 lemons)

4 egg yolks

8 large eggs

2 cups granulated sugar

2 sticks unsalted butter

2 cups heavy whipping cream

How To

 

 

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

