Visiting the Natural Epicurean Culinary School

Where do I even start?

Well….at my grandparents house I guess! On Tuesday I posted about how I was coming down to Austin Texas to visit the Natural Epicurean. Well after surviving fun turbulence, my grandpa’s aggressive driving, and multiple doughnuts being waved in my face. (My grandpa likes to taunt me since I can’t eat gluten.) Horseshoe Bay was within my view. This resort town in the hill country of Texas has been my second or third home for about 10 years. I would come and visit my grandparents at least once a year…sometimes staying in this retirement paradise for 1 month at a time. Yea, I was semi-retired at 12 years old.

Well 50 miles away, the city of Austin holds one of the most exciting schools I’ve ever visited. I first found out about the Natural Epicurean after interviewing one of their distinguished alumni, Christy Morgan (aka The Blissful Chef) on my radio show! literally 2 weeks after finding out that this school existed, I had a plane ticket to check it out. I don’t waste time…that’s for sure!

If you want more information about this school, just visit their website! (even though I halfway don’t even want to tell you about it, since I want it to stay a hidden gem.) :)

Obviously I liked my visit…but let me tell you exactly why!

Reason #1: Every single person that I met at the school radiated passion, excitement, and love. I have never felt so welcomed! The program is fantastic of course…but when you have people in charge of it that are literally out to change the world with what they do, you are automatically reeled in.

Reason #2: As my grandparents and I quickly turned into the parking lot after almost missing the turn…each of us had the same reaction at about the same time. “Wow, this place is small.” The Natural Epicurean is actually in a small shopping center, which actually got me crazy excited. As many of you know, I currently go to the Entrepreneurship Focus Program…which is a small, intimate environment where learning just explodes. Well this Culinary School drew me in because it has a very similar feel to the focus program I go to now. The students all have similar interests, passion is prevalent just opening up the door, and the future just gets brighter and brighter when you talk to the enthusiastic staff. This small environment is definitely a plus, something that gets me extremely excited.

Reason #3: I know very little about the subjects that the school teaches. Ever since I was 12 years old I’ve been going through cooking text books and creating a library to help me with any kind of cooking questions I might have. Well the Natural Epicurean is a plant-based cooking program and teaches all of their students in the following disciplines:

  • Macrobiotic
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Ayurvedic
  • Raw & Living Foods

All of these topics have never really even crossed my mind before…and since I’m always wanting to learn something foreign to me, this school seems to be perfect.

One question I have is: How will I give up Bacon? ;) (I think I could probably handle it)

So will I be blogging from  Austin Texas in the future? I’ll have to keep you up to speed about that. For now I’ll just be busy changing the world like usual. (I gotta tell ya…once I get together with the world changers at the Natural Epicurean..Super Hero Status will be achieved)

Make sure to check out this blog, from a student currently at the school!

I’m in Texas until Sunday, Soaking up the feeling of the future. More Blogs will be coming your way once I get back to the big city of Lincoln Nebraska.

What are you doing to change the world? Have a great recipe to share with me?

Comment on this post, or tweet me! :)

 

One thought on “Visiting the Natural Epicurean Culinary School

  1. Tanner,

    Glad you enjoyed your visit! It’s a pretty great program and I think you’d get a lot from it. I look forward to reading more of your blog!

    Mike

Did you enjoy this post? Leave a comment to show the love!

